1 800 222 6872

Chick Corea/Return to Forever: Where Have I Known You Before

Track List

>Vulcan Worlds
>Where Have I Loved You Before?
>Shadow of Lo
>Where Have I Danced With You Before
>Beyond the Seventh Galaxy
>Earth Juice
>Where Have I Known You Before?
>Song to the Pharoah Kings

Album Notes

Chick Corea/Return To Forever: Chick Corea (keyboards, percussion); Stanley Clarke (organ, bass, percussion); Al DiMeola (guitar); Lenny White (drums, percussion).

Producer: Chick Corea.

Reissue producer: Richard Seidel.

Recorded at the Record Plant, New York, New York in July & August 1974.

Digitally remastered by Dennis Drake.

Personnel: Chick Corea (piano, electric piano, Clavinet, organ, keyboards, synthesizer, percussion); Al Di Meola (guitar, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, 12-string guitar); Stanley Clarke (organ, electric bass, bass guitar, percussion, bells, chimes); Lenny White (drums, congas, bongos, percussion).

Audio Remasterer: Dennis Drake.

Liner Note Author: Neville Potter.

Recording information: Record Plant, NY (07/1974-08/1974).

Photographers: Herb Dreiwitz; Peter Kaplan.

This classic, cookin' fusion record from the heyday of the genre still sounds exciting today. Keyboardist Chick Corea leads his band on an intergalactic cruise into the void where rock and jazz meet in an explosive big bang. Playing with sci-fi imagery, Corea, bassist Stanley Clarke, drummer Lenny White, and guitarist Al DiMeola know how to trip the light fantastic.

White's searching "The Shadow of Lo" lets DiMeola riff with velvety guitars around Corea's sunny keys. On the closing space/jazz tug of war "Song to the Pharaoh Kings," Corea's synths pop like subatomic nuclei, while White lays down a frenzied star storm of clashing cymbals and ringing snares, and DiMeola and Clarke's strings wrap themselves around each other with impressive skill.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased