1 800 222 6872

Bob James & David Sanborn/David Sanborn/Bob James: Double Vision

Track List

>More Than Friends
>Moon Tune
>Since I Fell for You
>It's You
>Never Enough
>You Don't Know Me

Album Reviews:

Q (5/95, p.132) - 2 Stars - Average - "...More than a trifle bland, the combined talents of bassist Marcus Miller, drummer Steve Gadd and guest vocalist Al Jarreau do little to inject it with life."

Mojo (Publisher) (2/04, p.110) - 4 stars out of 5 - "[T]his is a singularly beautiful summit of two fusion giants."

Album Notes

Personnel includes: Bob James (keyboards); David Sanborn (alto saxophone); Al Jarrerau (vocals).

Personnel: David Sanborn (saxophone); Bob James (piano, keyboards, synthesizer); Al Jarreau (vocals); Eric Gale , Paul Jackson, Jr. (guitar); Steve Gadd (drums); Paulinho Da Costa (percussion).

Audio Mixer: Bill Schnee.

David Sanborn's saxophone complements Bob James' keyboards perfectly on the appropriately titled DOUBLE VISION. Sanborn, James, and bassist Marcus Miller all contribute compositions, and the listener encounters a wonderful variety of musical styles throughout the album's seven tracks. DOUBLE VISION opens on its highest note with Miller's "Maputo," a lush and moody song that highlights Sanborn's skills and sets the pace for the rest of the recording.

Miller also penned the romantic "More than Friends". James and Sanborn join compositional forces on "Moon Tune" and "Never Enough." Sanborn contributes the popular "It's You," a tune that features James prominently. "Maputo" may be the DOUBLE VISION's instrumental highlight, but Al Jarreau's vocal on "Since I Fell for You" is the album's romantic peak. This 1986 collaboration ranks top among contemporary jazz albums.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased