1 800 222 6872

Sallinen: The King Goes Forth in France / Kamu, et al

Album Summary

>Sallinen, Aulis : The King Goes Forth to France, opera in 3 acts ("Kuningas lahtee Ranskaan "), Op. 53
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

"Sallinen is a colorful composer, working within tonal boundaries and using the orchestra for masterly flavoring and description. It can bite like Shostakovich when it has to, but the vocal lines are more accented and lyrical--not unlike Janacek with a hint of Britten. There's snappy use of percussion--wood blocks, snare drum, etc.--to remind us of the awkwardness of the characters and their military pretensions, and the bass clarinet, at once sinister and funny-sounding in this context, pops out of the orchestral fiber often. When The Caroline with the Thick Mane (the others are called The Nice Caroline, The Anne Who Strips, and The Anne who Steals), who is crazy, imagines her wedding day, bells in the background, slightly off, tell us what's happening. Brass fanfares are frequent enough to mean nothing; again, the irony. Action is swift; the opera clocks in at just a little more than two hours. To single out individual performances would be to defeat the opera, which works like a well-oiled, surreal machine; there are no weak links. Of course Tommi Hakala's King and Jyrki Korhonen's Prime Minister are standouts by the sheer amount of music they have to sing and the straight faces they must present, but the four women are equally fine. Okko Kamu leads the Helsinki Philharmonic with clarity and a serious smile. Sallinen's tangy music and apparently sly wit make this a fascinating show, and following the work with the libretto reaps many rewards. A vibrant, unique work." -Classics Today (10/10)


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Sallinen, Aulis : The King Goes Forth to France, opera in 3 acts ("Kuningas lähtee Ranskaan "), Op. 53
  • Performers: Jyrki Anttila; Tommi Hakala (Baritone); Arttu Kataja (Bass); Tuomas Katajala (Tenor); Santeri Kinnunen; Jyrki Korhonen (Bass); Mari Malo; Jussi Myllys; Lilli Paasikivi (Mezzo Soprano); Mari Palo (Soprano); Riikka Rantanen (Mezzo Soprano); Niklas Spängberg; Janne Sundqvist (Bass); Kirsi Thum; Tuomas Tuloisela; Herman Wallén
  • Conductor: Kamu
  • Ensemble: Finnish Philharmonic Choir
  • Running Time: 125 min. sec.
  • Period Time: Contemporary
  • Written: 1983