1 800 222 6872

Ancora - Simpson: Symphony no 3, Clarinet Quintet

Album Summary

>Simpson, Robert : Symphony no 3
>Simpson, Robert : Quintet for Clarinet and Strings
Performers Conductor Ensembles Composer

Notes & Reviews:

A powerful and original symphonist, Simpson was born in 1921 and died in 1997. He worked as Senior Producer at the BBC for 28 years and was one of Britain's best-known broadcasters, before he resigned in 1980 after attempted orchestral cuts by an organization whose views he then "no longer respected." Amongst his output Simpson wrote 11 symphonies and 15 string quartets and his music almost always took the larger forms of Western classical music, a tradition which was under fire from the Darmstadt radicals of the time who were claiming that the "symphony was dead."


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Simpson, Robert : Symphony no 3
  • Conductor: Jascha Horenstein
  • Ensemble: London Symphony Orchestra
  • Period Time: Modern
  • Form: Orchestral
  • Written: 1962
  • Studio/Live: Studio

>Simpson, Robert : Quintet for Clarinet and Strings
  • Performers: Sydney Humphreys (Violin); Raymond Keenlyside (Violin); Margaret Major (Viola); Derek Simpson (Cello); Bernard Walton (Clarinet)
  • Ensemble: Aeolian String Quartet
  • Period Time: Modern
  • Form: Chamber Music
  • Written: 1968
  • Studio/Live: Studio