1 800 222 6872

Monteverdi: Madrigals Book 5 / Longhini, Delitiae Musicae

Album Summary

>Monteverdi, Claudio : Madrigals, Book 5, for 5 voices, SV 94-106
Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

Monteverdi's 'Fifth Book of Madrigals,' published in 1605, takes even further the expressive writing of the Fourth Book. Here the traditional madrigal for five voices is transformed into the 'madrigale concertato,' in which instrumental writing forms an important and innovative part of the structure. The theme running through the 19 madrigals is that of unrequited love, with the extended and highly dramatic scene surrounding the unhappy couple, Dorinda and Silvio, forming the heart of the collection. In line with recent research into performance practice of the time, all the singers on this recording are men.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Monteverdi, Claudio : Madrigals, Book 5, for 5 voices, SV 94-106
  • Conductor: Marco Longhini
  • Ensemble: Delitiae Musicae
  • Notes: Chiesa di San Pietro, Vincoli, Azzago, Verona, Italy (04/05/2003-04/10/2003)
  • Running Time: 75 min. 43 sec.
  • Period Time: Baroque
  • Form: Choral
  • Written: 1605