1 800 222 6872

Lee Konitz: L'Age Mür

Track List

>What's New?
>Darn That Dream
>I'll Remember April
>Age Mür, L'

Album Notes

Personnel: Lee Konitz (alto saxophone); Enrico Rava (trumpet); Massimo Manzi (drums).

Liner Note Author: Paolo Piangiarelli.

Recording information: Murec Studio, Milan, Italy (02/10/1997).

Photographer: Paolo Piangiarelli.

The dry-toned and very individual-sounding alto saxophonist Lee Konitz recorded frequently for the Italian label Philology during the 1990s, and this quartet session with avant-garde trumpeter Enrico Rava, bassist Rosario Bonaccorso, and drummer Massimo Manzi is a first-rate affair, though primarily in a straight-ahead setting. On most tracks, the co-leaders generally take turns exchanging solos of no more than a chorus or two in length, with pulsing but never dull support underneath by Bonaccorso and Manzi. "What's New" is played as a quasi-bossa nova, and "Cherokee" becomes a catchy samba; while "Cherokee" and "I'll Remember April" follow more predictable routes, though both are played with a lot of passion. Each musician also contributes an original: Konitz supplies an inventive march in which his alto and Rava's muted horn share a unison line before the exciting solos begin, while Rava's title track has a somewhat wandering theme but some of his best playing on the date. This very enjoyable CD is warmly recommended. ~ Ken Dryden


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

See Also

There are no recommendations posted for this product