1 800 222 6872

Bach: Christmas Oratorio / Diego Fasolis, I Barocchisti

Album Summary

>Bach, Johann Sebastian : Christmas Oratorio, BWV 248
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

At the time Bach created his masterpiece, the order of church services in Leipzig only provided limited space for music, and thus more extensive works had to be spread over several successive services. That is why the 'Christmas Oratorio' comprises a cycle of six complete cantatas for the first three days of Christmas, New Year, and the Sunday following New Year and Epiphany respectively. The six parts of the 'Christmas Oratorio' differ from the "regular" feast-day cantatas in that the complete Gospel text is used. A special characteristic is the fact that Bach had re-used elements from his earlier works when writing the music to almost all the arias and choruses, a practice we now recognize as being common to many composers from this era. Arts is proud to present this superb performance in multi-channel SACD sound, under the guidance of Diego Fasolis and with such well-known soloists as Charles Daniels and Klaus Mertens.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Bach, Johann Sebastian : Christmas Oratorio, BWV 248
  • Performers: Charles Daniels; Lynne Dawson; Klaus Mertens (Bass)
  • Conductor: Diego Fasolis
  • Ensemble: I Barocchisti
  • Notes: Auditorio Stello Molo, RSI Lugano (12/30/2002-01/05/2003)
  • Running Time: 122 min. 26 sec.
  • Period Time: Baroque
  • Form: Christmas
  • Written: 1734