1 800 222 6872

Originals - Britten: Peter Grimes / Benjamin Britten, Peter Pears

Album Summary

>Britten, Benjamin : Peter Grimes
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

"The Decca recording was one of the first great achievements of the stereo era. Few opera recordings can claim to be do definitive, with Peter Pears, for who it was written, Owen Brannigan (another member of the original team) and a first-rate cast. Britten conducts superbly and secures splendidly incisive playing." -The Penguin Guide.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Britten, Benjamin : Peter Grimes
  • Performers: Geraint Evans (Baritone); Lauris Elms (Mezzo Soprano); James Pease (Voice); Peter Pears (Voice); John Lanigan (Tenor); Marion Studholme (Soprano); Marcus Norman (Voice); Iris Kells (Soprano); Claire Watson (Soprano); Jean Watson (Alto); David Kelly (Voice); Raymond Nilsson (Tenor); Owen Brannigan (Bass)
  • Conductor: Benjamin Britten
  • Ensemble: Royal Opera House Covent Garden Chorus
  • Running Time: 78 min. 44 sec.
  • Period Time: Modern
  • Form: Opera/Operetta
  • Written: 1945