1 800 222 6872

The Beatles: LOVE [Bonus DVD]

Album Remarks & Appraisals:

Stereo CD will contain 78 minutes of newly mixed and mastered music packaged in a jewel box with a 28-page booklet including liner notes by George and Giles Martin. First time ever special edition will include both the stereo CD and a BONUS AUDIO DVD packaged in a digi-package with O-card. The DVD is audio only and will contain 81 minutes of music in both 5.1 surround sound and stereo (presented in DVD-Audio MLP, DTS, Dolby and PCM).

Album Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 3.5 stars out of 5 -- "[I]t's LOVEly -- the suite side of ABBEY ROAD extended to seventy-eight minutes."

Entertainment Weekly (p.105) - "[I]t's bliss....The exhilarating opener, 'Because,' is now a cappella, and the most glorious choral rock divinity since the Beach Boys' 'Our Prayer'..." -- Grade: A

Q (p.133) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[T]his demands the listener to reappraise The Beatles' brilliance with fresh ears. A genuine revolution in the head."

Q (p.118) - Ranked #53 in Q Magazine's "100 Greatest Albums of 2006."

Mojo (Publisher) (p.100) - 5 stars out of 5 -- "Stunning....You'll marvel at the sound and the new insight it brings to music you know so well."

Album Notes

Given his unparalleled talent for innovative recording, mixing, and soundscaping, producer Sir George Martin has always been rightly referred to as "the fifth Beatle." Some 35 years after the Beatles disbanded, Martin was still shaping the group's music, as demonstrated by the 2006 release LOVE. The album (created to coincide with a Cirque du Soleil performance based on Beatles songs) amounts to a musical fantasia centered on the Beatles' output, with famous work from both early and late in the band's career collaged with great care and artistry.

Martin's relationship to the band gives him a unique perspective (not to mention access to a vast catalogue of multi-track tapes), which results in a shape-shifting overview that encompasses demo recordings, instrumental passages, and snippets from some of the best-loved Beatles tunes. Beatles fanatics will be in seventh heaven playing "name that reference" on this sonic carpet ride, but LOVE also provides something of an "overture" to the Beatles' oeuvre. The SPECIAL EDITION comes with a bonus audio-only DVD featuring the album in various stereo mixes.

DVD Features:

Track List: LOVE

1. Because

2. Get Back

3. Glass Onion

4. Eleanor Rigby-Julia (Transition)

5. I Am The Walrus

6. I Want To Hold Your Hand

7. Medley: I) Drive My Car; II)The World; III) What You're Doing

8. Gink Nus

9. Something-Blue Jay Way (Transtion)

10. Medley: I) Being For The Benefit Of Mr. Kite; II) I Want You (She's So Heavy); III) Helter Skelter

11. Help!

12. Medley: I) Blackbird; II) Yesterday

13. Strawberry Fields Forever

14. Medley: I) Within You Without You; II) Tomorrow Never Knows

15. Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds

16. Octopus's Garden

17. Lady Madonna

18. Here Comes The Sun-The Inner Light (Transition)

19. Medley: I) Come Together; II) Dear Prudence; III) Cry Baby Cry (Transtion)

20. Revolution

21. Back In The U.S.S.R.

22. While My Guitar Gently Weeps

23. A Day In The Life

24. Hey Jude

25. SGT. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band (Reprise)

26. All You Need Is Love


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

See Also

There are no recommendations posted for this product