1 800 222 6872

Frank LoCrasto: When You're There *

Track List

>Until Dusk
>Jaded Brotherhood
>Overture/The Rathskeller/Interlude
>Metaphysics of Self-Deception, The
>New Beginnings
>Troubling Differences
>Gathered Impression
>Going Home

Album Reviews:

JazzTimes (p.64) - "LoCrasto's solos...exhibit his ample technique and unfettered expressiveness."

Album Notes

Lyricist: Becca Stevens.

Personnel: Frank LoCrasto (piano, glockenspiel); Frank LoCrasto; Becca Stevens (vocals); Mike Moreno (guitar); Richard Boukas (acoustic guitar); Zach Brock, Cornelius Dufallo (violin); Chris Hoffman (cello); Kelly Watson (flute, alto flute); Jeremy Viner (clarinet); Ben Kono (oboe, English horn); Alden Banta (bassoon); Chris Cheek (saxophone, soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone); Ben Street (double bass); Tommy Crane (drums).

Audio Mixer: Katsuhiko Naito.

Liner Note Author: Frank LoCrasto.

Recording information: Systems Two Studios, Brooklyn, NY (06/06/2006/06/07/2006).

Author: Aldous Huxley.

Photographer: Jimmy Katz.

Frank LoCrasto is a fine pianist but the music on his CD When You're There is, unfortunately, quite forgettable. The themes range from poppish to new age-style vamps, the arrangements (particularly those with a string section) are sleepy, and nothing all that memorable occurs. Chris Cheek's occasional sax solos are fine (he recalls Stan Getz a bit tone-wise on "Going Home"), and LoCrasto has excellent technique on piano, but the material is just not up to the level of their playing. There are instances where the ensembles are a little reminiscent of Herbie Hancock's '60s work, but those moments are fleeting and overshadowed by periods of meandering melancholy . With better material, this would have been a much more rewarding effort. ~ Scott Yanow


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review