1 800 222 6872

Wagner: Das Rheingold / Keilberth, Hotter, Lustig, et al

Album Summary

>Wagner, Richard : Das Rheingold
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

"It turns out that the landmark account of Wagner's "Ring" with Georg Solti conducting the Vienna Philharmonic, begun in 1958, was not the first stereo version. Before that some enterprising Decca engineers attended the Bayreuth Festival in Germany in 1955 and recorded the "Ring" live, in stereo, with the great German conductor Joseph Keilberth. Testament has been releasing the operas one at a time, first "Siegfried," then "Die Walkure" and now "Das Rheingold." The casts are incomparable, with Hans Hotter, in his prime, as Wotan; Astrid Varnay, the gleaming Brunnhilde; and Wolfgang Windgassen, in clarion voice, as Siegfried. But Mr. Keilberth's organic conducting is the revelation. "Gotterdammerung" is due out early next year." -The New York Times


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Wagner, Richard : Das Rheingold
  • Performers: Herta Wilfert (Soprano); Jutta Vulpius (Soprano); Paul Kuen (Tenor); Maria Ilosvay (Alto); Josef Traxel (Tenor); Toni Blankenheim (Baritone); Elisabeth Schartel (Voice); Rudolf Lustig (Tenor); Ludwig Weber (Bass); Georgine Milinkovic (Mezzo Soprano); Gustav Neidlinger (Baritone); Josef Greindl (Bass); Hans Hotter (Voice); Maria Graf (Voice)
  • Conductor: Joseph Keilberth
  • Ensemble: Bayreuth Festival Orchestra
  • Running Time: 91 min. 22 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Form: Opera/Operetta
  • Written: 1853-1854
  • Studio/Live: Live