Doris Day/André Previn (Conductor/Piano): Duet [2001 Bonus Tracks]

Track List

>Close Your Eyes
>Fools Rush In
>Nobody's Heart
>Remind Me
>Who Are We to Say (Obey Your Heart)
>Give Me Time
>Control Yourself
>Wait Till You See Him
>My One and Only Love
>Falling in Love Again
>Close Your Eyes - (alternate take)
>Fools Rush In - (alternate take)
>You're Good for Me
>Nobody's Heart - (previously unreleased, alternate take)
>In Love in Vain - (previously unreleased)

Album Notes

Personnel: Doris Day (vocals); Andre Previn (piano); Red Mitchell (bass); Frank Capp (drums).

Recorded in Hollywood, California. Originally released on Columbia (8552).

Liner Note Author: Irving Townsend.

Recording information: 11/30/1961-12/16/1961.

Recorded late in 1961, this album is a milestone in Doris Day's career -- despite having generated no hits -- as her best long-player, and her purest jazz solo album. Cut as a duet with André Previn (with Previn Trio bassist Red Mitchell and drummer Frank Capp providing occasional support), the album presents Day in the most intimate musical setting of her career. Her trademark style of singing works twice as well here as it did on her swing-era and early solo recordings. The repertory includes "Fools Rush In," and Alec Wilder's "Give Me Time," "Falling in Love Again," and a few Previn-authored pieces that hold up magnificently in this company.~ Bruce Eder


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review