1 800 222 6872

Elvin Jones: Love & Peace

Track List

>Little Rock's Blues
>Hip Jones
>For Tomorrow
>Sweet and Lovely

Album Notes

/McCoy Tyner Quintet.

Personnel: Elvin Jones (drums); McCoy Tyner (piano); Frank Foster (soprano & tenor saxophones); Pharoah Sanders, Pat Labarbera (tenor saxophone); Jean-Paul Bourelly, Roland Prince (guitar); Richard Davis, Andy McCloud (bass).

Reissue Producer: Jerry Gordon.

Recorded at Van Gelder Recording Studio, New Jersey between 1978 and 1982.

Includes liner notes by Rick Mattingly.

This 1982 release marks the reunion of drummer Elvin Jones with pianist McCoy Tyner. These two rhythm section gurus had previously played together for five years in the early '60s in the John Coltrane quartet, and LOVE & PEACE essentially feels and sounds like a tribute album to the legendary 'Trane, with tenor saxophonist Pharaoh Sanders' compositions in particular reminiscent of Coltrane's '60s albums. However, Sanders doesn't copy 'Trane's sound or style.

Jones's rewarding empathy with guitarist Jean-Paul Bourelly is best heard on the four bar breaks they exchange on the first track, "Little Rock's Blues." This connection is no surprise, however, given that the two musicians were, at the time, working together in Jones' touring band. Finally, McCoy Tyner's advanced modal and pentatonic sense is altogether compelling on his many solos, perhaps his most riveting improvisation being his solo on "Hip Jones."


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review