1 800 222 6872

Grand Tier - Weber: Der Freischütz / Kleiber, Grümmer, et al

Album Summary

>Weber, Carl Maria von : Der Freischütz, opera, J. 277 (Op. 77)
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

Der Freischutz was the first great German national opera, breaking the stranglehold of the Italians over the opera world. Its premiere in 1821 was a sensation, and Weber was proclaimed the founder of the German Romantic opera school. Richard Wagner was nine years old when he saw Weber conduct Der Freischutz. When asked what he wanted to be when he grew up, Wagner replied: "Not emperor or king, but to stand and conduct like that!" His wish, of course, came true; and when Weber died prematurely at age forty, it was Wagner who conducted the funeral music and delivered the eulogy. Weber's influence was to live on in Wagner's music dramas. All releases in the Grand Tier series include a full libretto in the original language and English; stimulating essays on the operas by eminent writers on music; and striking artwork commissioned from Rafal Olbinski. Live performance, Cologne, 1955. "Kleiber's reading and his cast's singing of this cornerstone of German opera have never been equaled on disc: a performance from around the same time under Furtwangler with many of the same singers is sloppier in execution, and Kleiber's son Carlos's recording from 1973, with as much enthusiasm and innate understanding, is not nearly as well sung. This set makes sense of an opera that may seem, for many, to be too otherworldly, or conversely, too earthy. It belongs in every opera lover's collection." - Robert Levine


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Weber, Carl Maria von : Der Freischütz, opera, J. 277 (Op. 77)
  • Performers: Kurt Böhme (Voice); Elisabeth Grummer (Voice); Hans Hopf (Tenor); Heiner Horn (Bass); Brigitte Kaltwasser (Voice); Kurt Marschner (Tenor); Richard Munch (Voice); Alfred Poell (Baritone); Max Proebstl (Bass); Lucy Schulz (Voice); Marlies Siemeling (Soprano); Rita Streich (Soprano); Marga Weissenfeld (Soprano)
  • Conductor: Erich Kleiber
  • Ensemble: Cologne West German Radio Orchestra
  • Notes: Cologne, Germany (03/15/1955-03/20/1955)
  • Running Time: 50 min. 6 sec.
  • Period Time: Classical
  • Form: Opera/Operetta
  • Written: 1817-1821