Asbestosdeath: Dejection, Unclean

Track List

>Suffering, The

Album Remarks & Appraisals:

In the late eighties Before the mighty formation of Sleep: Al Cisneros (Bass/Vocals), Chris Hakius, and Matt Pike (Guitar) played together (along with Thomas Choi/Guitar) in Asbestosdeath. Asbestosdeath are the roots of the oak that branched into the massive creation of not only Sleep but of course OM (Al and Chris), High On Fire (Matt) and ItisI/Operator Generator (Thomas Choi). Asbestosdeath was short-lived and only existed long enough to record 4 songs that were released on 2 separate 7's. One: Unclean was self-released by the band, the other: Dejection was released by Profane Existence. These recordings are long out of print buried by time and dust. On the specific request of the band Southern Lord has been chosen to unearth these recordings and make them available once again! It is our honor to unveil this compact disc properly documenting these sacred hymns! Be prepared for divine punishment!

Album Notes

Personnel: Tom Choi (vocals, guitar); Al Cisneros (vocals); Matt Pike (guitar); Chris Hakius (drums).

Audio Mixers: Radley Hirsch; Mark Brooks.

Recording information: Klang Sound, San Francisco, CA (04/29/1990).

The late-1980s San Jose metal band Asbestosdeath only had a short existence before it became the more storied Sleep in the early 1990s. This brief CD EP contains the band's entire four-song recorded output, a collection of slow, trance-like pieces that distills the band's dark, forbidding essence.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review