1 800 222 6872

Mozart: Requiem / Böhnert, Krumbiegel, Petzold, Schwarz, Biller

Album Summary

>Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus : Requiem in D minor, K 626
Performers Conductor Ensembles Composer

Notes & Reviews:

A grand-scale interpretation of Mozart's last masterpiece in Franz Beyer's bold orchestration.

On the occasion of Mozart's anniversary in 2006, a new recording of his Requiem was produced by an exceptional cast: the Thomanerchor Leipzig (St Thomas's Boys Choir Leipzig) and the Gewandhausorchester (Gewandhaus Orchestra) are joined by renowned soloists under the baton of the present cantor at St Thomas, Georg Christoph Biller.

American Record Guide, September / October 2012
The adult soloists are all excellent, and the Gewandhaus Orchestra's luminous playing could hardly be bettered. Sound quality is very good, and the booklet is useful, revealing, and complete. This may not be my absolute favorite recording of the Requiem (I favor Harnoncourt's 2003 Super-Audio account on Deutsche Harmonia Mundi), but it certainly ranks near the top of my list.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Works Details

>Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus : Requiem in D minor, K 626
  • Performers: Gotthold Schwarz (Bass); Georg Biller (Cantor); Dirk Lehmann (Trombone); Jutta Böhnert (Soprano); Martin Petzold (Voice)
  • Conductor: Georg Biller
  • Ensemble: Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra
  • Running Time: 42 min. 36 sec.
  • Period Time: Classical
  • Form: Choral
  • Written: 1791
  • Studio/Live: Live