1 800 222 6872

Liszt: Hungarian Rhapsodies / Fagen, Staatskapelle Weimar

Album Summary

>Liszt, Franz : Hungarian Rhapsodies (6) for Orchestra, S 359
Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

Although Hungarian by birth, it was only later in his career that Franz Liszt came to be regarded as a Hungarian national hero. His fifteen 'Hungarian Rhapsodies,' piano pieces in Hungarian gypsy style, won wide popularity, and six of these were later orchestrated, with the help of flautist and conductor Franz Doppler, to whom Liszt himself gave full credit for the work. The six orchestrations are, themselves, lively instrumental pieces, performed on this recording by the Weimar orchestra that Liszt himself once directed.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Liszt, Franz : Hungarian Rhapsodies (6) for Orchestra, S 359
  • Conductor: Arthur Fagen
  • Ensemble: Staatskapelle Weimar
  • Notes: Weimarhalle, Weimar, Germany (05/17/2006-05/19/2006)
  • Running Time: 11 min. 33 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Written: 1857-1860