1 800 222 6872

Mahler: Symphony no 5 / Leaper, Gran Canaria Filarmónica

Album Summary

>Mahler, Gustav : Symphony no 5 in C sharp minor
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

In 1878, Gustav Mahler (1860–1911) successfully finished his studies at the Vienna Conservatory. After his first compositions did not meet their foreseen success, he decided to become a conductor and as such conducted at various theatres such as Olmutz, Kassel, Prague, Budapest, and Hamburg. In 1897, he was nominated director of the Royal Opera of Vienna. The opera house being closed during the summer months, he took advantage of this interlude by composing. In the summer of 1901, the first three movements of his Fifth Symphony were completed, followed in 1902 by the two last ones.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Mahler, Gustav : Symphony no 5 in C sharp minor
  • Performers: Alejandro Castañeda (Trumpet); Jose Zarzo (Horn)
  • Conductor: Adrian Leaper
  • Ensemble: Grand Canary Philharmonic Orchestra
  • Notes: Teatrio Pérez Galdós, Las Palmas de Gran Canaria (09/20/1995-09/24/1995)
  • Running Time: 67 min. 34 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Form: Orchestral
  • Written: 1901-1902