1 800 222 6872

Frank Kimbrough: Rumors

Track List

>Sure as We're Here
>For Andrew

Album Reviews:

JazzTimes (p.71) - "[I]t all hangs together, coalescing into beauty....Grace and elegance are the operative words."

Album Notes

Personnel: Frank Kimbrough (piano); Masa Kamaguchi (double bass); Jeff Hirshfield (drums).

Audio Mixer: Matt Balitsaris.

Liner Note Author: Frank Kimbrough.

Recording information: Avatar Studios, NYC (09/16/2009).

Photographer: Dena Katz.

Rumors -- unlike the Fleetwood Mac rock/pop album with the British variant spelling of the same title -- is Frank Kimbrough's ultimate effort to play music in hushed tones, far removed from bop or anything remotely involved in overt actions. With hefty-sounding bassist Masa Kamaguchi and balanced drummer Jeff Hirshfield, Kimbrough's piano musings are rendered to beautifully wispy and subtle phrasings that stretch beyond simple melody lines into Zenlike trains of thought. While not quite approaching spirit songs, the music is closer to European art music, and is far removed from interpretation of standards. Kimbrough does have discernible influences, as heard during "TMI," reflecting Thelonious Monk, Herbie Nichols, or Ornette Coleman, playfully expounding on Coleman's "Law Years," while his tribute to Andrew Hill, "For Andrew," is harmonically rich and introspective as anything on this set. Using a rhythmically elusive stance during "Sure as We're Here" or in an interactive but free style for "Over," the trio continually delivers music that lies under the surface yet resonates on a purely emotional level. Though always seen as a performer with depth and substance, Kimbrough may have outdone himself with this excellent recording that emphasizes internal energy and soul, demanding a similar or repeat performance at some other time. ~ Michael G. Nastos


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review