1 800 222 6872

Alfredo Casella: Symphony No. 1; Concerto for Strings, Piano, Timpani & Percussion

Album Summary

>Casella, Alfredo : Symphony no 1 in B minor, Op. 5
>Casella, Alfredo : Concerto for piano, timpani, percussion & string orchestra, Op. 69
Performers Conductor Ensemble
  • >

Notes & Reviews:

This first of four recordings of Alfredo Casella's orchestral music couples his first and last purely orchestral works. Completed the day before his 23rd birthday, the 'Symphony No. 1', which here receives its world premiere recording, exudes a self-confidence few composers could match at such an age. Although it abounds in echoes of other music, at its best - above all in the beautiful central slow movement - the Symphony has a truly distinctive identity: Casella's fondness for dark, even crepuscular sonorities can be heard in the sometimes stunningly imaginative orchestration. After that, the driving motoric rhythms and astringent harmonies and timbres of the 'Concerto, Op. 69' erupt like the work of a different man entirely.

"Yes, the music sounds kind of like Borodin meets Richard Strauss, but heavens, it's a wonderful, tuneful, exciting, brilliantly scored chunk of passionate late-Romantic mayhem, and you're going to love it... [The Concerto is] engaging, ebullient, and wistful by turns, and harmonically tart in an ear-catching way... Happily, the performances here are excellent. Francesco La Vecchia drives the orchestra hard in the symphony, with a big payoff in terms of emotional spontaneity and impact ... This boldly engineered disc is the first of four surveying Casella's orchestral music, and we can only look forward to the remaining issues with great enthusiasm. Recommended, without reservations." - Classics Today


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Casella, Alfredo : Symphony no 1 in B minor, Op. 5
  • Conductor: Francesco Vecchia
  • Notes: Auditorium Conciliazione-Orchestra Sinfonica di Roma Studios (04/05/2009/04/06/2009)
  • Running Time: 44 min. 53 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Form: Orchestral
  • Written: 1906

>Casella, Alfredo : Concerto for piano, timpani, percussion & string orchestra, Op. 69
  • Performers: Antonio Ceravolo (Percussion); Désirée Scuccuglia (Piano)
  • Conductor: Francesco Vecchia
  • Notes: OSR Studios, Rome (10/23/2008-10/27/2008)
  • Running Time: 20 min. 44 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Form: Concerto
  • Written: 1943