1 800 222 6872

Mendelssohn: Double Concerto; Piano Concerto / Kristian Bezuidenhout

Album Summary

>Mendelssohn, Felix : Concerto for Piano in A minor
>Mendelssohn, Felix : Concerto for Piano and Violin in D minor
Performers Conductor Ensembles Composer

Notes & Reviews:

Three years before the Midsummer Night's Dream Overture, Felix Mendelssohn wrote an amazing concerto for fortepiano and violin, built on the Classical model but brimming with new, even iconoclastic ideas. Astonishingly, when it had its first performance in May 1823, the composer was just fourteen. He had already written around one hundred works, including a piano concerto premiered a year earlier. It was not until the late 20th century that either work appeared in a critical edition, and it is those rediscovered scores upon which this recording is based. Kristian Bezuidenhout is joined by the Freiburger Barockorchester and their violinist/conductor Gottfried von der Goltz.

"The double concerto of 1823 marks an advance on the earlier piano concerto (1822), the brilliant piano writing in both shows the fruitful influence of Weber and Hummel, and the playing of the soloists and the period-instrument Freiburg band is nice and lively." -The Sunday Times

"Both soloists have a fine line in fireworks and for the most part rhythms are secure...in general these are spirited performances, excellently recorded." -BBC Music Magazine

Classic FM Magazine
There is verve and spirit in these performances, but only where the composer demands it...In both concertos the Freiburg Baroque Orchestra brings out all that is new and innovative in these immature works. This is a 'must' if you love Mendelssohn and want to hear his early works given a polished, characterful performance.

Gramophone Magazine
Gottfried von der Goltz's solos are full of the swells we're accustomed to hearing in earlier music, rounded off with a hint of easy portamento, but his short-breathed phrasing and vigorous spiccato don't feel like concerto playing...Questions of style don't arise with Kristian Bezuidenhout, such is the weight of sonority he draws from this fortepiano (a modern copy of a Graf), his fine touch and taste...Do try to hear this.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Teldex Studio Berlin (04/2010).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Mendelssohn, Felix : Concerto for Piano in A minor
  • Performer: Kristian Bezuidenhout (Fortepiano)
  • Conductor: Gottfried Von der Goltz
  • Ensemble: Freiburger Barockorchester
  • Running Time: 34 min. 22 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Form: Concerto
  • Written: 1822

>Mendelssohn, Felix : Concerto for Piano and Violin in D minor
  • Performers: Kristian Bezuidenhout (Fortepiano); Gottfried Von der Goltz (Violin)
  • Conductor: Gottfried Von der Goltz
  • Running Time: 37 min. 14 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Written: 05/06/1823