1 800 222 6872

Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No. 2 / Alexander Ardakov

Album Summary

>Rachmaninov, Sergei : Concerto for Piano no 2 in C minor, Op. 18
Performer Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

Alexander Ardakov is a Russian pianist, graduate of the Moscow Conservatoire, and prizewinner at the 1984 Viotti International competition in Italy. Between 1981 and 1991 he played with the Moscow State Philharmonia. He has performed for BBC Radio 3 and Classic FM, and made numerous CD recordings. Sir Alexander Gibson was renowned for his work in Scotland, although he spent six years with Sadlers Wells Opera in the fifties, becoming its youngest Music Director. In 1959 he was appointed Music Director and Principal Conductor of the Royal Scottish National Orchestra. He was the first Scotsman to hold the post, and under his direction the orchestra's prestige grew steadily, enhanced by foreign tours, major festival appearances, and high-profile recordings. In 1984, he became Honorary President of the RSNO in recognition of his services to the orchestra and his immense contribution to the musical life of Scotland.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Rachmaninov, Sergei : Concerto for Piano no 2 in C minor, Op. 18
  • Performer: Alexander Ardakov (Piano)
  • Conductor: Alexander Gibson
  • Ensemble: Royal Philharmonic Orchestra
  • Running Time: 33 min. 55 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Form: Concerto
  • Written: 1900-1901