1 800 222 6872

Muddy Waters: Screamin' and Cryin' the Blues [Digipak]

Track List

>Baby Please Don't Go
>Soon Forgotten
>Corrina, Corrina
>After Hours
>(I'm Your) Hoochie Coochie Man
>Junior's Shuffle
>Howlin' Wolf
>Floyd's Guitar Blues
>Blow Wind Blow
>Screamin' and Cryin'
>Got My Mojo Workin'
>Garbage Man
>J.P.'s Boogie
>Goin' Down Slow
>What's the Matter with the Mill

Album Notes

Personnel: Muddy Waters (vocals, guitar); Luther "Guitar Junior" Johnson, Bob Margolin (guitar); Jerry Portnoy (harmonica); Pinetop Perkins (piano); Willie "Big Eyes" Smith (drums).

Liner Note Author: Alfie Falckenbach.

Recording information: International Folk Music Festival & Jazz Jamboree, Wars (10/22/1976).

Muddy Waters brought a Son House-like Delta country-blues style north with him from Mississippi to Chicago in 1943, intent on making a living from music. Switching from acoustic to electric guitar in order to be better heard in the Chicago clubs and bars, Waters gradually assembled one of the greatest ongoing bands in the history of blues, and in the process, he and his band assembled the very template for classic Chicago blues. Waters first cut a track for the Chess Brothers in 1947, who released it on their Aristocrat Records imprint, and for the next two decades or so, he turned out the basic iconic catalog of electric Chicago blues for various Chess imprints. This set was recorded live at the International Folk Music & Jazz Jamboree in Warsaw, Poland on October 22, 1976 when Waters' band featured guitarists Bob Margolin and Luther Johnson, pianist Pinetop Perkins, blues harpist Jerry Portnoy, bassist Calvin Jones, and drummer Willie Smith. ~ Steve Leggett


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

See Also

There are no recommendations posted for this product