1 800 222 6872

Simon Mayr: Ariadne on Naxos, cantata / Cornelia Horak, Thomas Michael Allen

Album Summary

>Mayr, Simon : Arianna in Nasso, cantata for voice & orchestra
Performer Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

The Bavarian-born composer Simon Mayr spent his compositional life in Italy, spreading the influence of Viennese classicism whilst himself being influenced by prevailing Italian models. His cantata Arianna in Nasso (Ariadne on Naxos) was written for the leading soprano Isabella Colbran, who was later to marry Rossini. Her virtuosity inspired Mayr, and his cantata is a stirring example of vivid nature writing, refined pathos, and joyous celebration. Franz Hauk and the Simon Mayr Chorus and Ensemble are the world's leading Mayr exponents and their recordings have received the highest critical acclaim. The Simon Mayr Chorus and Ensemble were established by Franz Hauk in 2003. The chorus's repertoire ranges from the sixteenth to the twentieth century and a special emphasis is laid on historical performance techniques and the performance of vocal music by Simon Mayr. Franz Hauk has done much to revive interest in the music of Simon Mayr and since October 2002 has taught in the historical performance and church music department of the Munich Music and Theatre Hochschule.

American Record Guide, March / April 2013
It's spirited and tuneful with even the same string and woodwind sonorities. This performance is alert and neatly paced. The engineering is rich, transparent, and balanced. Hauk himself fortunately supplies a detailed description of what's going on in all 15 cuts in the liner notes.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Neues Schloss, Fahmensaal, Ingolstadt (09/16/2007-09/20/2007).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Mayr, Simon : Arianna in Nasso, cantata for voice & orchestra
  • Performer: Franz Hauk (Harpsichord)
  • Conductor: Franz Hauk
  • Ensemble: Simon Mayr Chorus
  • Notes: Neues Schloss, Fahmensaal, Ingolstadt (09/16/2007-09/20/2007)
  • Running Time: 54 min. 59 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Form: Cantata/Oratorio