1 800 222 6872

New York Standards Quartet: Power of 10 [Digipak]

Track List

>Deep High Wide Sky
>How Deep Is the Ocean
>All of Me
>Doll's Phone Cause
>Green Doll's Phone
>Doll's Phone Effect
>Three Card Molly
>Embraceable You
>Lush Life
>Lush Effect
>Secret Fondness
>Hidden Fondness
>Polkadots and Moonbeams

Album Remarks & Appraisals:

'Power of 10' is the New York Standards Quartet's second release for Whirlwind, and a tribute to their ten years of performing together. The band is made up of three of New York's busiest jazz players: Grammy nominated tenor saxophonist Tim Armacost, drumming powerhouse Gene Jackson, pianist David Berkman, and joining on this recording, Michael Janisch (double bass). Berkman, who writes much of the band's repertoire, has a distinctive flair for re-casting well-known jazz standards in new and unexpected settings. On 'Power of 10', songs like "Deep High Wide Sky" and "Hidden Fondness" are melodies based on the chord progressions of "How Deep is the Ocean" and a reharmonised, "Secret Love". In the band's hands, his arrangement of the well-worn standard "All of Me" becomes a daring, harmonically tense vehicle for Armacost's mighty soprano playing and Jackson's powerful drumming. Armacost's arrangement of "Lush Life" brings a new perspective to this classic Strayhorn ballad and his "Green Doll's Phone" is a playful treatment of "On Green Dolphin Street", written to showcase the brilliant technical prowess of bassist Michael Janisch.

Album Notes

Personnel: Tim Armacost (saxophone); David Berkman (piano); Michael Janisch (double bass); Gene Jackson (drum).

Audio Mixer: Tyler McDiarmid.

Recording information: Tedesco Studios, Paramus, NJ (11/10/2014).

Editor: Tyler McDiarmid.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review