1 800 222 6872

Gustav Mahler (1860-1911): Symphony No. 3 / Kelley OÆConnor, mezzo-soprano; Dallas Symphony Orchestra, Dallas Symphony Chorus, Jaap van Zweden

Album Summary

>Mahler, Gustav : Symphony no 3 in D minor
Performer Conductors Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

Conducted by Jaap Van Zweden, the Dallas Symphony Orchestra, presents this live recording of Gustav Mahler's Symphony No. 3. The centerpiece of the first nancy A. Nasher and David J. Haemisegger Family SOLUNA International Music and Arts Festival in Dallas, Symphony No. 3 was recorded at live concerts at the event on May 21-23, 2015. The third symphony is the longest, but most jubilant symphony of Mahler's. The composer described the piece as "beginning with inanimate nature and ascending to the love of God." Joining the orchestra are the Women of the Dallas Symphony Chorus with Joshua Habermann conducting, as well as the Children's Chorus of Greater Dallas, under director Cynthia Nott.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Eugene McDermott Concert Hall, Morton H. Meyerson Symph (05/21/2015-05/23/2015).


Wonderful interpretation of Mahlers 3rd Symphony
This 2 CD set contains Gustav Mahlers 3rd Symphony performed by the Dallas Symphony under the baton of Jaap van Zweden, featuring Kelley OConnor (mezzo-soprano), the Women of the Dallas Symphony Chorus, and the Childrens Chorus of Greater Dallas. And what an incredible experience in music making this is.

It is clear from the opening passages of the 1st movement that the Dallas Symphonys horn section is ready to play with depth and meaning. Mahlers music contains so many nuances, and Mr. van Zweden is clearly interested in bringing forth every single thing that Mahler intended. There is depth to the low strings underscoring the somber horns, and the musicians are functioning as a unit with nothing out of place exactly what is required to do Mahlers symphonic works justice. There is even brightness and sense of purpose in the percussion section in the triangle! (which is exactly how it *should* be, but it is palpable here)

The first CD consists entirely of the 1st movement, and the second CD containing movements 2 thru 6. And while every single note of this recording is a feast for the ears, I cannot say enough about the texture and sensitivity of the 3rd movement, every tremolo seemingly just right, every tentative hint of expressiveness communicating more than just the notes on the page. This touching gentility makes the close of the movement even more captivating as the drum roll and horns grab the listener and focus his attention on the majesty to come. The 4th movement, sung by Kelley OConnor, is a glorious ethereal piece of music, the text coming from Also sprach Zarathustra. Ms. OConnors voice is warm and rich and golden just perfect for the text and the music. The 5th movement features the Childrens Chorus of Greater Dallas, and the singsong voices and bright rhythms provide a perfect introduction to the beautiful and tentative (but strong at the same time quite remarkable) music of the 6th and last movement, sweeping and gorgeous sonorities in the strings taking the listener to a very special place where everything is in balance and life is reflected in the sounds of the emotional strings and crystal clear horns. And the quiet finish near the end with the piccolo giving way to silence, before the horns take over and glow with a majesty that only Mahler could create simply spectacular.

The quality of this recording is stunning, and I cant say enough good things about Jaap van Zwedens work behind the podium, as well as the playing of the Dallas Symphony Orchestra. It is clear that Mr. van Zweden is emotionally invested in bringing this simultaneously delicate and powerful work to life, and investing every note with the force of life that Mahler demands. I highly recommend this CD it is fantastic! Buy it. You wont be disappointed.

Submitted on 11/03/16 by KlingonOpera 
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Mahler, Gustav : Symphony no 3 in D minor
  • Performer: Kelley O'Connor (Mezzo-soprano)
  • Conductor: Jaap Zweden
  • Ensemble: Dallas Symphony Orchestra
  • Notes: Eugene McDermott Concert Hall, Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Center, Dallas, TX (05/21/2015-05/23/2015)
  • Running Time: 95 min. 4 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Form: Orchestral
  • Written: 1893-1896
  • Studio/Live: Live