1 800 222 6872

Nels Cline: Lovers

Track List

>Glad to Be Unhappy
>Beautiful Love
>Hairpin & Hatbox
>Cry, Want
>Lady Gabor
>Bed We Made, The
>You Noticed
>Secret Love
>I Have Dreamed
>Why Was I Born?
>It Only Has to Happen Once
>Night Porter/Max, Mon Amour, The
>Snare, Girl
>So Hard It Hurts/Touching
>Search for Cat, The
>Bond, The

Album Remarks & Appraisals:

Nels Cline is the Wilco guitarist, named by Rolling Stone as one of the "100 Greatest Guitarists of All Time." Produced by David Breskin, and composed/arranged by Michael Leonhart with 24 piece orchestra. The album features a combination of Nels' new compositions and a range of diverse covers by the likes of Sonic Youth, Rodgers and Hammerstein, and Gabor Szabo. Cline will debut Lovers with the full orchestra at Newport Jazz Festival in late July, along with dates next year at UCLA and SFJAZZ.

Album Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 3.5 stars out of 5 -- "'It Only Has to Happen Once' is a samba-tinged noir by Arto Lindsay with some of the album's more abraded guitar, the melody getting downright cubist by the end."

Pitchfork (Website) - "Cline has delivered a chamber-orchestra set that's notable for relying on some 'Great American Songbook' standards by the likes of Jerome Kern and Rodgers & Hammerstein....The album offers some pensive Cline originals, as well..."

Album Notes

Personnel: Nels Cline (acoustic guitar, electric guitar, lap steel guitar); Julian Lage (acoustic guitar, electric guitar); Zeena Parkins (harp); Amy Kimball (violin, viola); Jeff Gauthier, Antoine Silverman (violin); Stephanie Griffin (viola); Maggie Parkins, Erik Friedlander (cello); J.D. Parran (alto flute, bass flute, alto clarinet, bass clarinet, baritone saxophone, bass saxophone); Charles Pillow (alto flute, bass flute, bass clarinet, oboe, English horn, alto saxophone); Gavin Templeton (clarinet, alto saxophone); Ben Goldberg (alto clarinet, bass clarinet, contrabass clarinet); Doug Wieselman (bass clarinet, tenor saxophone); Sara Schoenbeck (bassoon); Steven Bernstein (trumpet, slide trumpet, flugelhorn, alto horn); Taylor Haskins (trumpet, flugelhorn, valve trombone); Michael Leonhart (trumpet, flugelhorn, celesta); Alan Ferber (trombone, bass trombone); Yuka Honda (celesta, synthesizer); Kenny Wollesen (vibraphone, marimba, percussion); Devin Hoff (bass guitar); Alex Cline (drum set, percussion).

Audio Mixer: Ron Saint Germain.

Liner Note Author: Nels Cline.

Recording information: Pat Dillett Studio, NYC (11/2013/12/2013); Sear Sound, NYC (11/2013/12/2013); Water Music, Hoboken, NJ (11/2013/12/2013).

Arranger: Michael Leonhart.

Whether playing with his own avant-jazz bands or Wilco, strangeness and invention are two of guitarist Nels Cline's defining characteristics. Since the 1980s, he's longed to cut a large-scale album of "mood music" revolving around the concept of love and romance. He made ever changing lists of tunes from the Great American Songbook, cinema, jazz, pop, and exotica, but thought the project beyond his capability. Poet and producer David Breskin convinced him to pursue it. Cline enlisted award-winning arranger/conductor Michael Leonhart and a chamber orchestra of 22 players -- trumpeter Steven Bernstein, guitarist Julian Lage, clarinetist Ben Goldberg, harpist Zeena Parkins, and vibraphonist Kenny Wollesen among them. Blue Note made Lovers a physical reality.

This 18-track, 80-plus-minute set pays homage to iconic muses: Henry Mancini, Gil Evans, Quincy Jones, Gary McFarland, Jimmy Giuffre, Jim Hall, and more. Uncharacteristically, over 13 covers and five originals, there is little anarchy and no guitar freakouts. Tunes fold into and rise out of one another, emerging with lush romanticism and erotic tension. Rodgers & Hammerstein's "Glad to Be Unhappy" commences with lilting clarinets, guitar chord voicings, strings, whispering brushed drums, and muted brass. Cline's "Hairpins and Hatbox" is a warm, lithe setup for the bluesy read of Giuffre's classic "Cry Want." Gabor Szabo's "Lady Gabor" is painted in drones and spacy modal melody. Guitars entwine around sweeping harp, moaning flutes, and rolling tom-toms. "Secret Love" is a direct tribute to Hall; it begins with a slightly dissonant percussive woodwind intro but breaks into airy swing as brass punctuates Cline's six-string break. Disc two is more experimental. Arto Lindsay's "It Only Has to Happen Once" is read as a mutant samba-cum-tango with a Morricone-esque guitar atop chamber strings. Cline juxtaposes noir-ish jazz, modern classical, and cabaret via the disparate themes from the films --"The Night Porter/Max, Mon Amour." A medley of Annette Peacock tunes, "So Hard It Hurts/Touching," offers shifting dynamics, drones, dissonant ambience, and sparse lyricism. Sonic Youth's "Snare Girl" is adorned by hypnotic tom-toms and an Americana-flavored guitar before Cline backmasks it and turns it inside out. The strings join in and it blurs toward psychedelic exotica. "The Search for Cat," from Mancini's Breakfast at Tiffany's score, is a serial cue that didn't make the soundtrack. Cline simultaneously balances swing and wry humor with suspense and theatricality, and even briefly quotes "Moon River." Closer "The Bond" is a tender, romantic ballad erected from a single rockist guitar vamp. Cline's emotionally resonant solo, framed by the backing of the entire orchestra, approaches the transcendent. Due to its extensive length and low-key demeanor, Lovers is demanding. That said, Cline's harmonic, textural, and timbral palettes deliver it as a compellingly engaging and original take on orchestral -- and by intent, conceptual -- jazz. He hears possibilities in the historical past and articulates them with timeless ardor. This may be Cline's quietest recording, but it is one of his finest. ~ Thom Jurek


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

See Also

There are no recommendations posted for this product