1 800 222 6872

Chopin: 24 Preludes, OP. 28; Schumann: Fantasie, Op. 17 / Horacio Gutiérrez, piano

Audio Samples

  1. Preludes, Op. 28: I. Prelude in C Major $0.99 on iTunes
  2. Preludes, Op. 28: II. Prelude in A Minor $0.99 on iTunes
  3. Preludes, Op. 28: III. Prelude in G Major $0.99 on iTunes
  4. Preludes, Op. 28: IV. Prelude in E Minor $0.99 on iTunes
  5. Preludes, Op. 28: V. Prelude in D Major $0.99 on iTunes
  6. Preludes, Op. 28: VI. Prelude in B Minor $0.99 on iTunes
  7. Preludes, Op. 28: VII. Prelude in A Major $0.99 on iTunes
  8. Preludes, Op. 28: VIII. Prelude in F-Sharp Minor $0.99 on iTunes
  9. Preludes, Op. 28: IX. Prelude in E Major $0.99 on iTunes
  10. Preludes, Op. 28: X. Prelude in C-Sharp Minor $0.99 on iTunes
  11. Preludes, Op. 28: XI. Prelude in B Major $0.99 on iTunes
  12. Preludes, Op. 28: XII. Prelude in G-Sharp Minor $0.99 on iTunes
  13. Preludes, Op. 28: XIII. Prelude in F-Sharp Major $0.99 on iTunes
  14. Preludes, Op. 28: XIV. Prelude in E-Flat Minor $0.99 on iTunes
  15. Preludes, Op. 28: XV. Prelude in D-Flat Major $0.99 on iTunes
  16. Preludes, Op. 28: XVI. Prelude in B-Flat Minor $0.99 on iTunes
  17. Preludes, Op. 28: XVII. Prelude in A-Flat Major $0.99 on iTunes
  18. Preludes, Op. 28: XVIII. Prelude in F Minor $0.99 on iTunes
  19. Preludes, Op. 28: XIX. Prelude in E-Flat Major $0.99 on iTunes
  20. Preludes, Op. 28: XX. Prelude in C Minor $0.99 on iTunes
  21. Preludes, Op. 28: XXI. Prelude in B-Flat Major $0.99 on iTunes
  22. Preludes, Op. 28: XXII. Prelude in G Minor $0.99 on iTunes
  23. Preludes, Op. 28: XXIII. Prelude in F Major $0.99 on iTunes
  24. Preludes, Op. 28: XXIV. Prelude in D Minor $0.99 on iTunes
  25. Fantasie in C Major, Op. 17: I. Durchaus fantastisch und leidenschaftlich vorzutragen. Im Legenden-Ton
  26. Fantasie in C Major, Op. 17: II. Mässig. Durchaus energisch $0.99 on iTunes
  27. Fantasie in C Major, Op. 17: III. Langsam getragen. Durchweg leise zu halten $0.99 on iTunes

Album Summary

>Chopin, Frédéric : Preludes (24) for Piano, Op. 28
>Schumann, Robert : Fantasia in C major, Op. 17
Performer Composers

Notes & Reviews:

The Cuban-American virtuoso Horacio Gutiérrez is a legendary figure in the piano world. After taking the Silver Medal at the 1970 Tchaikovsky International Competition, Gutiérrez embarked on an international touring career that saw performances with nearly all of the world's great orchestras and conductors including Maazel, Rostropovich, Masur, Levine, Rozhdestvensky, Ormandy, Gergiev, Ozawa, Previn, Leinsdorf, Tennstedt, Ashkenazy, Barenboim and numerous others. Gutiérrez has recorded very infrequently, and these new recordings reveal a great poet-virtuoso at the height of his musical powers.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: American Academy Of Arts And Letters, New York, NY (03/26/2015-03/28/2015).


Masterful performances
Sometimes liner notes can make a difference. In the booklet for this release, Stephen Wigler suggested that Chopin's Op. 28 Preludes might be considered a single cycle comprised of very short works, as opposed to a collection of 24 self-contained preludes.

While they certainly work as the former, the idea that each prelude was part of a larger whole gave me insight into Horacio Gutiérrez's performance. And what a performance!

Gutiérrez, as befitting an artist with such a long career, plays with a comfortable familiarity. Technical difficulties have been mastered long ago -- what's important is the underlying musicality, and that's what Gutiérrez brings to the fore.

Listening to the set as a single continuous work helped me understand some of his interpretive choices. Each prelude seemed to flow logically into the other. The "Raindrops" prelude is slow, but not too slow. It provides a satisfying balance between the allegro of the D-flat minor prelude before it, and the presto con fuoco outburst of the B-flat minor that follows.

The Schumann Fantasie, Op. 17 is played with the same mature sensitivity. It's a beautiful performance that I'll be returning to again and again.

Submitted on 03/07/17 by RGraves321 
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Chopin, Frédéric : Preludes (24) for Piano, Op. 28
  • Performer: Horacio Gutierrez (Piano)
  • Notes: American Academy Of Arts And Letters, New York, NY (03/26/2015-03/28/2015)
  • Running Time: 30 min. 47 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Written: 1838-1839

>Schumann, Robert : Fantasia in C major, Op. 17
  • Performer: Horacio Gutierrez (Piano)
  • Notes: American Academy Of Arts And Letters, New York, NY (03/26/2015-03/28/2015)
  • Running Time: 29 min. 36 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Written: 1836