1 800 222 6872

De Profundis: String Quartets by Norman Palej, Krzysztof Penderecki / Penderecki String Quartet

Notes & Reviews:

Krzysztof Penderecki's remarkable Third Quartet is grounded in tonality and is deeply emotional, intensely furious at times, with evocations of Mahler, Shostakovich, Szymanowski, and presents a sentimental Waltz that emerges from a dream state. This is a highly evocative and nostalgic quartet that Penderecki wishes to be his gift to music, to listeners, and to performers.

Canadian based Norbert Palej grew up in communist Poland, then in the former West Germany. An award-winning and internationally performed composer, he now teaches at the University of Toronto. His works have been noted for their blend of intense lyricism and visceral energy.

Formed in 1986, the Penderecki String Quartet began their career as winners of the Penderecki Prize at the National Chamber Music Competition in Poland. Now based in Waterloo, Canada where they are Quartet-in- Residence at Wilfrid Laurier University, the Penderecki String Quartet has become one of the most celebrated chamber ensembles of their generation, bringing their varied experience to create performances that demonstrate their "remarkable range of technical excellence and emotional sweep" by Globe and Mail.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased