1 800 222 6872

Beethoven: Missa solemnis / Ormandy, Arroyo, Forrester

Album Summary

>Beethoven, Ludwig van : Missa solemnis in D major, Op. 123
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

"This is as gorgeously played a 'Missa Solemnis' as has ever been recorded, and I certainly didn't mind traversing the liturgy while swooning over the orchestra. The otherworldly bridge between the Sanctus and Benedictus has never sounded more beautiful...Ormandy devotees will treasure it for the careful balance between visceral excitement and warm, expressive, tasteful music-making..." -Greenfield, ARG


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Works Details

>Beethoven, Ludwig van : Missa solemnis in D major, Op. 123
  • Performers: Martina Arroyo (Soprano); Richard Lewis; Cesare Siepi (Bass Baritone)
  • Conductor: Eugene Ormandy
  • Ensemble: Philadelphia Orchestra
  • Notes: Philadelphia Hotel, Philadelphia, PA (03/29/1967/03/30/1967)
  • Running Time: 76 min. 13 sec.
  • Period Time: Classical
  • Form: Choral
  • Written: 1819-1823