1 800 222 6872

Mose Allison: Ramblin' with Mose [Bonus Tracks]

Track List

>I Got a Right to Cry
>Old Devil Moon
>Minstrels, The
>You Belong to Me
>Stranger in Paradise
>Kissin' Bug, The
>Old Man John
>Old Devil Moon - (previously unreleased, alternate take, bonus track)
>Stranger in Paradise - (previously unreleased, alternate take, bonus track)
>Ramble - (previously unreleased, alternate take, bonus track)

Album Notes

Personnel: Mose Allison (piano); Mose Allison (vocals); Addison Farmer (bass instrument); Ronnie Free (drums).

Audio Remasterer: Joe Tarantino.

Liner Note Author: Joe Goldberg.

Recording information: Van Gelder Studios, Hackensack, NJ (04/18/1958).

Photographer: Don Schlitten.

Mose Allison's Ramblin' with Mose was released in 1958. Other than the opening track, a stellar read of Joe Liggins' blues "I Got a Right to Cry," this is an entirely instrumental album. Bassist Addison Farmer and drummer Ronnie Free accompany the pianist as he rips through "Stranger in Paradise" from the score of Kismet at a tempo that would make the composer dizzy; his "Old Devil Moon," moves through some Latin changes and even rhythmic figures before bringing the tune back to earth, and his own "Ramble" is a scorching back-country blues jaunt that offers some evidence of Allison's mighty left-hand skills. Allison displays absolutely brilliant instrumental prowess as both an arranger and as an improviser. His unique, often unorthodox interpretations of standards and pop songs set him apart from virtually every one of his peers. ~ Thom Jurek


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased