1 800 222 6872

Fazil Say: Istanbul Symphony; Hezarfen Concerto / Borusan Istanbul Philharmonic Orchestra [CD & DVD]

Album Summary

>Say, Fazil : Istanbul Symphony, Op. 28
>Say, Fazil : Hezarfen Concerto, for ney & orchestra, Op. 39
>Unspecified : DVD Bonus Disc
Performers Conductors Ensemble
  • >

Notes & Reviews:

This third recording of works composed by Fazil Say follows on from the successful "Black Earth" released in 2003 and "1001 Nights in the Harem" released in 2009. Fazil Say's first symphony is a tribute to the legendary city of Istanbul - a fascinating world that bridges Europe and Asia. Fazil Say's fascinating music mixes occidental music, Turkish folk music and jazz. Says the composer, "It is about capturing the nature in Istanbul, that beautiful city which we know from the poetry of Orhan Veli and Nazim Hikmet, from the writers, poets, and artists of that city".

Gramophone Magazine, April 2013
Say's Eastern-imbued tonal and rhythmic language is driven forwards, sometimes quite relentlessly, by a strong programmatic element...The airy tone of the ney is used to good effect, and both works benefit from energetic and passionate performances.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Say, Fazil : Istanbul Symphony, Op. 28
  • Performers: Hakan Güngör (Kanun); Burcu Karadag (Ney); Aykut Koserli (Bendir)
  • Conductor: Gurer Aykal
  • Running Time: 41 min. 37 sec.
  • Period Time: Contemporary
  • Form: Orchestral
  • Written: 2009

>Say, Fazil : Hezarfen Concerto, for ney & orchestra, Op. 39
  • Performers: Aykut Köselerli (Waterphone); Burcu Karadag (Ney)
  • Conductor: Dan Ettinger
  • Running Time: 25 min. 2 sec.
  • Period Time: Contemporary
  • Form: Concerto
  • Written: 2011
  • Studio/Live: Live

>Unspecified : DVD Bonus Disc