1 800 222 6872

Cesar Franck: Complete Organ Works Vol. 3 / Hans-Eberhard Ross, organ

Notes & Reviews:

The late works of composers are often surrounded by a special aura. The knowledge of the final certain artistic statements instill within us - quite rightly - a particular feeling of awe. His passing at the relatively young age of 68 is overshadowed by the significance of his post-mortem transportation to the cemetery of Montparnasse in 1893. The Parnasse is one of the mountains, which, according to ancient poetry, is inhabited by the muses. This is where Franck belongs: he has climbed the 'gradus ad parnassum,' the steps to the Parnasse. The final volume of this acclaimed series, fittingly, includes the magnificent Three Chorales and the works entitles Pieces pour Orgue ou Harmonium, all composed within his final year.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased