1 800 222 6872

Shostakovich: The Nose / Gergiev, Mariinsky Orchestra, Et al

Notes & Reviews:

"Valery Gergiev, obviously in his element and with his own orchestra and (spectacular) chorus, gives the work form and pathos while making certain that absurdity and satire reign supreme. This is, by the way, the first release on the Mariinsky label and it's quite an auspicious start. Fabulous fun!" -ClassicsToday (10/10)

The Mariinsky Theatre's new version of 'The Nose' bring Shostakovich's difficult piece spectacularly to life. This sharply observed two-CD set from the Mariinsky Theatre transcends the snags, harnessing the score's avant-garde idiom together with its thrusts of mordant Gogolian satire, its cunning musical characterisation and whirlwind fantasy to reveal the opera in all its bizarre brillance. -Telegraph (London)


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Shostakovich, Dmitri : The Nose, opera, Op. 15
  • Performers: Viktor Antipenko; Gennady Bezzubenkov (Voice); Zhanna Dombrovskaya (Soprano); Tatjana Filimonova (Soprano); Alexander Gerasimov (Voice); Roman Gibatov (Voice); Alexander Gorev (Voice); Vasily Gorshkov (Voice); Nikolai Kamensky (Voice); Lyudmila Kanunnikova (Voice); Yulia Khazanova; Mikhail Kornblit (Voice); Yuri Kovalenko (Voice); Vadim Kravets (Bass); Tatiana Kravtsova (Voice); Sergei Melenevsky (Voice); Andrei Popov (Tenor); Sergei Romanov (Voice); Vladimir Samsonov (Voice); Sergey Semishkur (Tenor); Igor Silakov (Voice); Sergei Skorokhodov (Voice); Yevgeny Strashko; Vladislav Sulimsky (Baritone); Alexeï Tannovistski; Alexander Timchenko (Voice); Yevgeny Ulanov (Voice); Vladislav Uspensky (Voice); Viktor Vikhrov (Voice); Elena Vitman (Mezzo Soprano); Yuriy Vorobiev (Voice); Sergei Yukhmanov (Voice); Vladimir Zhivopistsev (Tenor); Andrei Zorin (Voice)
  • Conductor: Valery Gergiev
  • Ensemble: Mariinsky Theater Orchestra, St. Petersburg
  • Notes: Mariinsky Concert Hall, St. Petersburg, Russia (07/15/2008-07/23/2008)
  • Running Time: 98 min. 11 sec.
  • Period Time: Modern
  • Form: Opera/Operetta
  • Written: 1928