1 800 222 6872

John Zorn: What Thou Wilt

Album Summary

>Zorn, John : Contes de Fees, for violin, piano & orchestra
>Zorn, John : (fay ce que vouldras), for piano
>Zorn, John : 777 (nothing is true, everything is permitted), for 3 cellos
Performers Composer

Notes & Reviews:

Composed in 1999 at the turning of the millennium, 'Cones de Fees' is one of Zorn's classical masterworks. A powerful violin concerto with a virtuosic and lyrical solo part and dramatic, colorful orchestral accompaniment, it receives its best performance to date by the Tanglewood Orchestra under the baton of Ryan McAdams and features the remarkable soloist Stephanie Nussbaum. Also included are two intense pieces of Crowleana, the bizarre and expansive solo piano piece... and the whirlwind numerological miniature for three celli dedicated to the legendary new music virtuoso Fred Sherry 777, which maestro Charles Wuorinen considers one of Zorn's most remarkable works.

Notes & Reviews:

Personnel: Stephanie Nussbaum; Erik Friedlander, Tanglewood Orchestra, Ryan McAdams, Mike Nicolas, Stephen Drury, Fred Sherry .


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Zorn, John : Contes de Fées, for violin, piano & orchestra
  • Performers: Stephen Drury (Piano); Stephanie Nussbaum (Violin); John Zorn
  • Running Time: 13 min. 17 sec.
  • Period Time: Contemporary
  • Form: Concerto
  • Written: 1999

>Zorn, John : (fay çe que vouldras), for piano
  • Performers: Stephen Drury (Piano); John Zorn
  • Running Time: 22 min. 53 sec.
  • Period Time: Contemporary
  • Written: 2005

>Zorn, John : 777 (nothing is true, everything is permitted), for 3 cellos
  • Performers: Erik Friedlander (Cello); Mike Nicolas (Cello); Fred Sherry (Cello); John Zorn
  • Running Time: 6 min. 10 sec.
  • Period Time: Contemporary
  • Form: Chamber Music
  • Written: 2007