1 800 222 6872

Herbie Mann: Peace Pieces

Track List

>Peri's Scope
>Turn Out the Stars
>We Will Meet Again
>Blue in Green
>Waltz for Debby
>Very Early
>Peace Piece

Album Reviews:

Q (7/96, p.118) - 3 Stars - Good - "Sixteen years after his death, pianist Bill Evans is still bringing out the best in musicians....with these superb sidemen...Mann excels,...playing with the gentle, introspective invention that marked the composer's own career."

Album Notes

Personnel: Herbie Mann (flute); Randy Brecker (flugelhorn); Bruce Dunlap (guitar); Eddie Gomez, Paul Socolow (bass); Louis Nash, Ricky Sebastian (drums); Sammy Figueroa (percussion).

Recorded at Studio 900, New York and Stepbridge Recording Studio, Santa Fe, New Mexico between March 16 and July 16, 1995. Includes liner notes by Orrin Keepnews and Herbie Mann.

Tributee: Bill Evans .

Personnel: Herbie Mann (flute); Bruce Dunlap (guitar); Randy Brecker (flugelhorn); Rick Sebastian, Louis Nash (drums); Sammy Figueroa (percussion).

Audio Mixer: Paul Blakemore.

Liner Note Authors: Herbie Mann; Orrin Keepnews.

Recording information: Stepbridge Recording Studio, Santa Fe, NM (03/15/1995-04/17/1995); Studio 900, New York, NY (03/15/1995-04/17/1995).

Photographer: Valerie Santagto.

Arrangers: Sy Johnson; Bob Freedman.

Herbie Mann's Peace Pieces may surprise some listeners who think that the flutist has long forgotten his jazz roots. Mann has always considered the late pianist Bill Evans to be one of his favorite musicians and he actually recorded an album with him (1961's Nirvana). For his Kokopelli release, Mann performs eight songs composed by Evans and one ("Blue in Green") that the pianist claimed Miles Davis permanently "borrowed" from him. Mann wisely did not utilize a piano (thereby avoiding any comparisons) and his thoughtful set has more variety than one might expect. Randy Brecker has a couple of guest spots on flugelhorn, Mann overdubbed additional flutes on a few numbers (forming a section behind his solo playing) and he used an excellent and quiet rhythm section comprised of guitarist Bruce Dunlap, bassist Eddie Gomez, drummer Louis Nash, and sometimes percussionist Sammy Figueroa. A few of the pieces are heated while others are quite introspective but all of the music is both thoughtful and swinging. Highly recommended. ~ Scott Yanow


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

See Also

There are no recommendations posted for this product