1 800 222 6872

Amanda Brecker: Blossom *

Track List

>So Far Away
>You Can Close Your Eyes
>Will You Love Me Tomorrow
>Sweet Baby James
>It's Too Late
>Don't Let Me Be Lonely Tonight
>Long Ago and Far Away
>Something In the Way He Moves
>(You Make Me Feel Like) A Natural Woman
>You've Got a Friend
>You Were Mine

Album Notes

Personnel: Amanda Brecker (vocals); Jesse Harris (acoustic guitar); Anthony Wilson (electric guitar); Larry Goldings (piano, celesta, Fender Rhodes piano, Hammond b-3 organ, Wurlitzer organ, glockenspiel); Russ Kunkel (drums, percussion).

Audio Mixer: Darrel Thorpe.

Recording information: The Bank Studios, Los Angeles.

Photographer: Juan Patino.

The daughter of the Brazilian pianist/singer Eliane Elias and trumpeter Randy Brecker, singer/songwriter Amanda Brecker had already released two noteworthy albums in Japan in 2008 and 2009. 2012's Blossom is her first album released in the U.S. on the Emarcy label. Brecker reinterprets 11 classic songs that were written mainly by singer/songwriter Carole King. King's soft rock and soul classics are a perfect vehicle for the singer's crossover jazz arrangements, especially on "You Make Me Feel Like a Natural Woman," "You've Got a Friend," "So Far Away," "Will You Love me Tomorrow," and "It's Too Late." Grammy-winning songwriter Jesse Harris produced the session and, in keeping with the album's theme, employed drummer Russ Kunkel and bassist Lee Sklar, who played on the original Tapestry recording sessions. The release of Blossom also coincides with the 40th anniversary of Tapestry's release. ~ Al Campbell


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review